Рус
Рус

1842-1844, architect A.I. Stackenschneider

The Tsarina's Pavilion, was built by the architect A. I. Stackenschneider, for the Empress Aleksandra Feodorovna, during the landscaping of the territory to the south of the Upper Garden. Then, by means of "art and labor", on the site of the vast Hunting swamps, the flowing pond was created with two islands, where the two pavilions were built, first Tsarina's and, later, Olga's. The first one of them, was designed by the architect in the, fashionable at the time, "Pompeian spirit." It had to create an image of the ancient Roman buildings, discovered during the excavations of Pompeii. Unlike the previous century constructions, it added "a romantic note in the architectural symphony of Peterhof." Aleksandra Feodorovna liked to rest here, from the tiresome court ceremonies.

The exotic ancient Roman names of the interiors - Exedra (the room with three niches), Atrium with a pool and a fountain, intended in Pompeian houses for recreation, Triclinium (the dining room), Oikos (the living room), literally force to dream about Italy and visiting of Pompeii. The authentic Pompeian mosaic, skillfully set in the floor of the Dining Room, is reminiscent of this legendary city. The furniture, lighting appliances and other decorations for the Tsarina's Pavilion, were produced according to ancient Roman and Greek models. The abundance of polished colored stone and marble of different shades, is one of the main features of the pavilion. The columns, fireplaces, mosaic floors and tables are made of this material.

The bright colorful drawings on the walls and ceilings of the pavilion, were created in the antique spirit. Even the service for breakfast and afternoon tea, is made in the style of ancient pottery found in Pompeii, and called "Etruscan". The fact that the pavilion is located on an island, is observable in the "Coral" teaservice, with its objects decorated with stylized branches of coral. The writing instruments in the Study of Aleksandra Feodorovna, are made in the technique of a red-figure vase art. The memory of the Empress is kept here, by the clock over the fireplace, the paperweight, the figurines, the books and two ancient, mysteriously shimmering twisted marble columns, decorated with Byzantine mosaic. They add to the Study an oriental colour, that used to remind the Empress of the Berlin festival in 1821, where she played the role of the oriental beauty Lalla-Rookh. Inside the Tsarina's Pavilion, there is a wonderful collection of small bronze sculpture, brought in the XIX century, from Germany and France, and includes not only the copies of antique originals, but also the original works of the masters of the XVIII-XIX centuries. Among them, there are Nymphs, Bacchaes, Cupids, Venuses, Disk-throwers, Apollos and Bathing ladies, glorifying the beauty, bliss and sensory pleasure.

The ambience of the Tsarina's Pavilion created for the Empress, Aleksandra Feodorovna, an intuitive world, so dear to her, that embodied her ideas of the ideal. It was the image of Italy - the country of dreams and desires.

En
En

Дата постройки: 1842-1844 гг. 

Архитектор: Андрей Иванович Штакеншнейдер (1802-1865)

Царицын павильон был построен архитектором А. И. Штакеншнейдером для императрицы Александры Федоровны во время благоустройства территории южнее Верхнего сада. Тогда "искусством и трудом" на месте огромного Охотничьего болота создали проточный пруд с двумя островами, на которых построили два павильона, сначала Царицын, затем Ольгин. Первый из них архитектор оформил в модном в то время "помпейском духе". Он должен был воспроизводить облик древнеримских домов, открытых при раскопках Помпеи. Непохожий на сооружения предшествующего столетия, он внёс "романтичную ноту в архитектурную симфонию Петергофа". Александра Федоровна любила отдыхать здесь от утомительных дворцовых церемоний.

Экзотические древнеримские названия интерьеров – экседра (комната с тремя нишами), атриум с бассейном и фонтаном, предназначавшиеся в помпейском доме для отдыха, триклиний (столовая), ойкос (гостиная) буквально заставляют мечтать об Италии и посещении Помпей. Об этом легендарном городе напоминает подлинная помпейская мозаика, искусно вмонтированная архитектором в пол Столовой. Мебель, осветительные приборы и другое убранство для Царицына павильона изготавливали по древнеримским и древнегреческим образцам. Обилие полированного цветного камня и мрамора разных оттенков – одна из главных особенностей павильона. Из этого материала выполнены колонны, камины, мозаичные полы и столики.

В античном духе создавалась яркая красочная роспись стен и потолков павильона. Даже сервиз для завтраков и полдников выполнен в стиле античной керамики, найденной в Помпеях, и назван «Этрусским». О том, что павильон стоит на острове, напоминает чайный «Коралловый» сервиз, предметы которого украшены стилизованными веточками кораллов. В технике краснофигурной вазовой живописи выполнены письменные приборы, представленные в Кабинете Александры Федоровны. Память об императрице хранят здесь каминные часы, пресс-папье, статуэтки, книги и две старинные, загадочно мерцающие, витые мраморные колонны, украшенные византийской мозаикой. Они придают Кабинету восточный колорит, напоминавший императрице о берлинском празднике 1821 года, где она выступала в роли восточной красавицы Лалы-Рук. В Царицыном павильоне находится прекрасное собрание мелкой бронзовой пластики, привезенной в XIX веке из Германии и Франции и включающей не только копии с античных оригиналов, но и оригинальные работы мастеров XVIII-XIX веков. Среди них Нимфы, Вакханки, Амуры, Венеры, Дискоболы, Аполлоны, Купальщицы, воспевающие красоту, негу и чувственную радость.

Обстановка Царицына павильона создавала для императрицы Александры Федоровны мир близкий ей и понятный, воплощавший ее представления об идеальном. Это был образ Италии – страны грез и мечтаний.