Since March 18th, 2020 all museums & parks of Peterhof will be closed till further notice. Keep updated with Peterhof  FacebookInstagram.

!
Рус
Рус

1721-1724, architect J.-B. Le Blond

1737, sculptor B. K. Rastrelli

1798-1799, architect F.P. Brouer, sculptors H. Ritter, G. Schweiger, I. Eisler

The Neptune Fountain is located in the large central pool of the Upper Garden. The bronze figure of the god of the seas, with the crown on his head and the trident in hand, is rising on the granite pedestal. The granite plinth of the statue is surrounded by the riders on sea horses, and the trumpeting into the sea shells tritons, on the back of winged dragons and dolphins.

The water pool was created in the time of Peter I, in the 1730's, it was decorated with gilded lead sculptures, cast from a model by B. K. Rastrelli. The grand multi-figure composition of Neptune's Chariot appeared in the center of the basin, and the three-level cascade on the south side of the pool, was adorned by the statue of "Winter".

At the end of the XVIII century, the Neptune'sChariot, that had lost its former beauty, was replaced by the bronze composition with figures of the sea god and his entourage, acquired by Pavel I, in Germany, in 1797. Cast in the 1650's, by the sculptors H. Ritter, G. Schweiger and I. Eisler, it is one of the most outstanding works of Western European art of the XVII century. The place of "Winter" on the cascade of the pool, was taken by the bronze copy of an antique statue of Apollo Belvedere.

During the Second World War, the sculptures were stolen and taken to Germany. Afterwards, at the request of the Soviet government, they were returned, installed on their places, while the statue of Apollo was recreated in accordance with its gypsum impression.

En
En

1721-1724 гг., арх. Ж-Б. Леблон.

1737 г., скульптор Б. К. Растрелли.

1798-1799 гг., арх. Ф. П. Броуэр; скульпторы Х. Риттер, Г. Швейгер, И. Эйслер.

Фонтан "Нептун" находится в самом большом центральном бассейне Верхнего сада. На гранитном постаменте возвышается бронзовая фигура бога морей с короной на голове и трезубцем в руке. Гранитный пьедестал статуи окружают всадники на морских конях и трубящие в раковины тритоны на крылатых драконах и дельфинах.

Бассейн, созданный при Петре I, в 1730-х годах был декорирован золоченой свинцовой скульптурой, отлитой по моделям Б. К. Растрелли. В центре бассейна появилась грандиозная многофигурная композиция "Колесница Нептуна", а трехступенчатый каскад на южной стороне бассейна украсила статуя "Зима".

В конце XVIII века на месте утратившей былую красоту "Колесницы Нептуна" была установлена бронзовая композиция с фигурами морского бога и его свиты, приобретенная Павлом I в Германии в 1797 году. Отлитая в 1650-х годах скульпторами Х. Риттером, Г. Швейгером и И. Эйслером, она является одним из самых выдающихся произведений западноевропейского искусства XVII века. Место "Зимы" на каскаде бассейна заняла бронзовая копия античной статуи Аполлона Бельведерского.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны скульптуры были похищены и вывезены в Германию. Впоследствии, по требованию советского правительства, их вернули, установили на прежнее место, а статую Аполлона воссоздали по гипсовому слепку.