Рус
Рус

There are many world-famous artists, but only units of the art dynasties. A special place among them, rightly belongs to the Benois family. This kin is of French origin. As it was often the case with many foreign families in Russia, the Benois family, having combined the French and German blood, Russified and became the stirpes of many Russian artists. For two hundred years in Russia, the family grew bigger, having enriched the dynasty with new names. There are many talented people among them, who have earned recognition outside the artistic pursuits. However, for its real glory, the dynasty owes to those who connected their lives with art. It is a constellation of gifted architects, painters, sculptors, composers and artists. The kin of Benois, combined the dynasties of Lancerays, Serebryakovs, Schreters, Tamanians, Ustinovs and Tcherepnins. The "Benois Family Museum" is dedicated to them, who enriched the Russian and world culture.

In the middle of the XIX century, near the imperial summer palace, two Freulein (Ladies-in-waiting) houses were built by the project of the architect Nicholas Leontievich Benois. Namely this man, who was appointed by the Emperor Nicholas I, as the chief architect of Peterhof, became the founder of the artistic Benois dynasty. Peterhof was a "native place" for many of its members, regardless of how their fate unfolded. The atmosphere of Peterhof itself, was harmonizing with the perception of art, reminiscent of the great masters of the past.

On September 27, 1988, in one of the blocks of the Freulein houses, an Art Museum was inaugurated, dedicated to the unique dynasty. The idea of its creation belonged to the grandson of the architect N. L. Benois, a well-known artist of the "La Scala" Theatre, Nicholas Alexandrovich Benois. His theatre works, letters and photographs from the family archives are presented in the museum. Graphics and architecture, theater decorative art and sculpture, pictorial and cinema art, music and literature - the development of all these forms of art was greatly contributed by the representatives of Benois family. An intimate character of the exposition, permits to show not only the recognized masterpieces, but also children's drawings, as well as works, by means of which, one can trace the beginning of the formation of one or another artist's signature.

The museum in Peterhof, became the center of the artistic heritage of the Benois family, and today, many people have the opportunity to get acquainted with such a unique phenomenon in the Russian and global culture.

Due to technical reasons the Benois Family Museum is open only for the pre-booked visits. Please phone us to book a tour through the museum (812) 450-58-06

En
En

Всемирно известных художников много, художественных династий – единицы. Среди них особое место по праву принадлежит семье Бенуа. Род этот имеет французское происхождение. Как это часто случалось со многими иностранными семьями в России, семья Бенуа, соединившая в себе французскую и немецкую кровь, обрусела и стала родоначальницей многочисленных российских деятелей искусства. За двести лет в России семья разрослась, обогатив династию новыми фамилиями. Среди них немало одаренных людей, заслуживших признание и вне художественного поприща. Но подлинной славой династия обязана именно тем, кто связал свою жизнь с искусством. Это созвездие талантливых архитекторов, художников, скульпторов, композиторов и артистов. Род Бенуа соединил в себе династии Лансере, Серебряковых, Шретеров, Таманянов, Устиновых, Черепниных. Им, обогатившим русскую и мировую культуру, посвящен "Музей семьи Бенуа".

В середине XIX века рядом с летним императорским дворцом были построены два Фрейлинских корпуса по проекту архитектора Николая Леонтьевича Бенуа. Именно этот человек, которого император Николай I назначил главным архитектором Петергофа, стал родоначальником художественной династии Бенуа. Для многих ее членов Петергоф был "родным местом", независимо от того, как потом сложилась их судьба. Сама атмосфера Петергофа настраивала на восприятие искусства, напоминая о великих мастерах прошлого.

27 сентября 1988 года в одном из корпусов Фрейлинского дома был торжественно открыт художественный музей, посвященный уникальной династии. Идея его создания принадлежала внуку архитектора Н. Л. Бенуа, известному художнику театра "Ла Скала" Николаю Александровичу Бенуа. Его театральные работы, письма и фотографии из семейного архива представлены в музее. Графика и архитектура, театрально-декорационное искусство и скульптура, живопись и кино, музыка и литература, – в развитие всех этих видов искусства достойный вклад внесли представители семьи Бенуа. Камерный характер экспозиции позволяет показать не только признанные шедевры, но и детские рисунки, а также произведения, с помощью которых можно проследить начало формирования почерка того или иного художника.

Музей в Петергофе стал центром художественного наследия семьи Бенуа, и сегодня у многих есть возможность познакомиться со столь уникальным явлением в русской и мировой культуре.