Since March 18th, 2020 all museums & parks of Peterhof will be closed till further notice. Keep updated with Peterhof  FacebookInstagram.

!
Рус
Рус

1734-1738, architect I.Y. Blanc, I.P. Davydov, sculptor B.K. Rastrelli

1929 - updated with the sculpture by D. Rossi (1809)

On the central axis of the Upper Garden, the closest to the Grand Palace, is the "Oak" fountain. Inside the round basin on the tufa island, in the form of a starfish, there is the "Cupid, with a Theatrical Mask", welcoming the visitors to the park. This statue was made in 1809, by the sculptor D. Rossi. The Cupid is surrounded by six dolphins placed on the star rays, with thin streams of water spurting out of their mouths.

The name of the "Oak" fountain is connected with the fact, that the basin created in the 1730's, was originally decorated by a lead gilded oak, surrounded by tritons and dolphins. The tree, created by B.K. Rastrelli, was removed from the pool in the middle of the XVIII century, and was later used in the Lower Park in the creation of the trick-fountain "the Oak". The fountain composition has repeatedly been changed, and nowadays, only the name reminds us of the original decoration. The parterre of the Upper Garden, near the "Oak" fountain, is decorated with emphatic and expressive marble figures, works of the Italian sculptor A. Bonazza, created in 1757: Flora, Zephyr, Vertumnus and Pomona.

Since the time of the Empress Elizaveta Petrovna, in the "Oak" fountain's basin, every year on August 1st (August 14th according to the Gregorian calendar), there was the ritual of blessing and sprinkling with holy water, the regimental banners of all military units stationed in Peterhof. Currently, this tradition is revived.

En
En

1734-1738 гг., арх. И. Я. Бланк, И. П. Давыдов, скульптор Б. К. Растрелли.

1929 г. – дополнен скульптурой Д. Росси (1809).

На центральной оси Верхнего сада, ближе всего к Большому дворцу, находится фонтан "Дубовый". В круглом бассейне, на туфовом островке в виде морской звезды, гостей парка встречает "Амур, надевающий маску". Эту скульптуру в 1809 году выполнил скульптор Д. Росси. Амур окружен шестью дельфинами, помещенными на лучах звезды, из пастей которых бьют тонкие струйки воды.

Название фонтана "Дубовый" связано с тем, что бассейн, созданный в 1730-х годах, поначалу украшал свинцовый золоченый дуб, окруженный тритонами и дельфинами. Дерево, созданное Б. К. Растрелли, в середине XVIII века из бассейна убрали и впоследствии использовали в Нижнем парке при создании фонтана-шутихи "Дубок". Композиция фонтана неоднократно менялась, и сейчас лишь название напоминает о первоначальном убранстве. Партер Верхнего сада вблизи фонтана "Дубовый" украшают выразительные и экспрессивные мраморные фигуры работы итальянского скульптора А. Бонацца, созданные в 1757 г.: Флора, Зефир, Вертумн, Помона.

Со времен императрицы Елизаветы Петровны в бассейне Дубового фонтана ежегодно 1 августа (14 августа по новому стилю) совершался ритуал водосвятия и окропления святой водой полковых знамен всех военных частей, расположенных в Петергофе. В настоящее время эта традиция возрождена.