Since March 18th, 2020 all museums & parks of Peterhof will be closed till further notice. Keep updated with Peterhof  FacebookInstagram.

!
Рус
Рус

In the center of each of the four parterres, that the Monplaisir garden is divided into, the Cloche fountains, devised by Peter I, were set, decorated with the gilded sculpture. These water jets were created in 1721-1723 by the drawings of N. Michetti, simultaneously with the central fountain "Sheaf". The deteriorated lead statues were replaced in 1817, by the bronze ones. The wax models of them were made by I. Martos, from the impressions kept in the Museum of the Academy of Arts.

The fountain of the northwest parterre of the Monplaisir garden, is decorated with a sculpture of a young god Apollo, called "Apollino", and representing the copy of the antique original of the IV century BC. To the east, there is a parterre, in the center of which there is the statue of Psyche - the copy of the original, made by the Italian sculptor of the Classiсal era, Antonio Canova (1757-1822). The sculpture "Faun with the Kid", is the copy of the antique original of the I century BC., it adorns the southeastern parterre of the garden. Opposite, on the south-western parterre, the "Bacchus" is set - the copy of the work by Jacopo Sansovino (1486-1570) - an Italian sculptor and architect of the High and Late Renaissance.

The fountains differ not only by their sculpture, but also by the bases: two pedestals have the shape of a vase with embossed acanthus leaves, and the other two -the fluted columns' form - with vertical grooves, the furrows on the barrel of the column. The author of pedestals - Niccolo Michetti.

Water rises along the pipes, hidden in the pedestals. The disks with rounded edges, are fixed under the sculptures on the pedestals. Water, slipping from them, forms transparent water bells, this is why the fountains are called "Cloche" - "The Bells" in the French manner.

The statues, saved during the World War II, have remained until our days. Their pedestals, stolen by German troops, were recreated after the war.

En
En

В центре каждого из четырех партеров, на которые делится Монплезирский сад, по замыслу Петра были устроены фонтаны "Колокола", украшенные золоченой скульптурой. Эти водометы создавались в 1721-1723 годах по чертежам Н. Микетти одновременно с центральным фонтаном "Сноп". Обветшавшие свинцовые статуи в 1817 году заменили бронзовыми. Восковые модели для них выполнил И. Мартос со слепков, хранящихся в музее Академии художеств.

Фонтан северо-западного партера Монплезирского сада украшен скульптурой молодого бога Аполлона, именуемого "Аполлино" и представляющего копию с античного оригинала IVв. до н.э. Восточнее находится партер, в центре которого статуя Психеи – копия оригинала, выполненного итальянским скульптором эпохи классицизма Антонио Кановой (1757-1822). Скульптура "Фавн с козленком" является копией с античного оригинала I в. до н.э. и украшает юго-восточный партер сада. Напротив, в юго-западном партере, установлен "Вакх" – копия с работы Якопо Сансовино (1486-1570) – итальянского скульптора и архитектора эпохи Высокого и Позднего Возрождения.

Фонтаны различаются не только скульптурой, но и основаниями: два пьедестала имеют форму вазы с рельефными акантовыми листьями, а два других – форму колонн с каннелюрами – вертикальными углублениями, желобками на стволе колонны. Автор пьедесталов – Н. Микетти.

Вода поднимается по трубам, скрытым в пьедесталах. Под скульптурой на постаментах укреплены диски с закругленными краями. Вода, соскальзывая с них, образует прозрачные водяные колокола, поэтому фонтаны и назвали на французский манер "Клоши" – "Колокола".

Спасенные в годы Великой Отечественной войны статуи сохранились до наших дней. Их пьедесталы, похищенные немецкими войсками, были воссозданы в послевоенное время.