Рус
Рус

1735, sculptor B.C. Rastrelli

1802, sculptor M.I. Kozlovsky

1947, sculptor V.L. Simonov, N.V. Mikhailov

The ideological center piece of the Grand cascade, is the sculptural group "Samson Tearing Apart the Jaws of the Lion" - a monument celebrating the great Russian victories. It was installed, in honor of the 25th anniversary of the Battle of Poltava, the decisive warfare in the Northern war. The Swedish troops, were routed on the 27th of June of 1709, on the remembrance day of saint Sampsonius the Hospitable, who was regarded as the patron of the Russian army.

During his lifetime, Peter I was often compared with another Samson - a biblical hero, whose first act of bravery, described in the 14th chapter of the "Judges", was connected with the victory over a young frenzied lion. The lion, as part of the Swedish coat-of-arms, symbolized Sweden and its king Charles XII. The meaningful concurrencies, formed the basis of the monument's figure decision. The three-meter rock, serves as a plinth of the sculptural group. By the powerful and calm movement, the hero stops the the leap of the animal, that is subsiding on its hind legs, and tears open its snarling jaws, from where, in powerless rage, a mighty twenty-meter water pillar spurts, like the last roar. The eight dolphins, symbolizing the calm seas, frolic around Samson, exulting together with the hero and spraying up the water spurts, that form a sparkling wreath. The lions, symbolizing the sides of the world, dazedly look out from the rock niches, harking the combatting uproar, deciding the fate of Russia and Europe.

The sculptural group, cast in lead according to the design of B.C. Rastrelli, and installed in the scoop in 1735, lost its gloss by the end of the XVIII century, because of the frailness of the lead. In 1802, it was replaced with a bronze sculpture, created by M.I. Kozlovsky, who has preserved the original ideological meaning and composition. During the Second World War, "Samson" faded. After the liberation of Leningard, the sculptor V.L.Simonov, with the assistance of N.V. Mikhailov, re-created the monument, based on the pre-war photographs and the old sketches. The new "Samson" was installed on the pedestal in 1947, having become not only a symbol of the victory over an enemy, but also a visiting card of Peterhof, known all over the world.

En
En

1735 г., скульптор Б. К. Растрелли.

1802 г., скульптор М. И. Козловский.

1947 г., скульпторы В. Л. Симонов, Н. В. Михайлов.

Идейным центром Большого каскада является скульптурная группа "Самсон, разрывающий пасть льва" – памятник великим русским победам. Она была установлена в честь 25-й годовщины Полтавской битвы – решающего сражения Северной войны. 27 июня 1709 года, в день памяти Святого Сампсония Странноприимца, считавшегося покровителем русского войска, шведская армия была разгромлена.

Петра I еще при жизни сравнивали с другим Самсоном – библейским богатырем, первый подвиг которого, описанный в 14-ой главе "Книги Судей", заключался в победе над молодым разъяренным львом. Лев, как часть шведского герба, символизировал Швецию и ее короля Карла XII. Многозначительные совпадения легли в основу образного решения памятника. Трехметровая скала служит постаментом скульптурной группе. Могучим и спокойным движением богатырь останавливает прыжок зверя, осевшего на задние лапы, и разрывает его оскаленную пасть, из которой в бессильной ярости вырывается, как последний рык, мощный водяной столб высотой 20 м. Восемь дельфинов, символизирующих спокойное море, резвятся вокруг Самсона, торжествуя вместе с героем и взметая вверх водяные струи, образующие сверкающий венок. А львы, олицетворяющие стороны света, изумленно выглядывают из скальных ниш, внимая шуму борьбы, решающей судьбы России и Европы.

Скульптурная группа, отлитая из свинца по модели Б. К. Растрелли и установленная в ковше в 1735 году, к концу XVIII века, из-за непрочности свинца, потеряла свой блеск. В 1802 году ее заменили бронзовой скульптурой, созданной М. И. Козловским, который сохранил первоначальный идейный замысел и композицию. Во время Великой Отечественной войны "Самсон" был утрачен. После освобождения Ленинграда скульптор В. Л. Симонов с помощником Н. В. Михайловым воссоздали монумент по довоенным фотографиями и старым изображениям. Новый "Самсон" был установлен на пьедестале в 1947 году, став не только символом победы над врагом, но и известной всему миру визитной карточкой Петергофа.