Рус
Рус

1846-1848, architect A.I. Stackenschneider

Olga's Pavilion is a gift of Emperor Nicholas I to his daughter, the Grand Duchess Olga Nikolaevna, for the day of her marriage with Prince Karl of Württemberg. The pavilion was built in the style of country villas on the Sicily island, where, in the capital city Palermo, the question of marriage of the Grand Duchess was decided.

The pavilion is represented by the two-storey tower, with a terrace and stairs leading down to the waterfront. Before, the boats, gondolas and ferries were mooring here. The smooth walls of the pavilion are vivified by bas-reliefs, balconies, niches with marble busts and the original rainwater discharges in the form of winged dragons. The tower, smooth winding paths planted along with strawberries; trees, bushes, lilacs, barberries, jasmine, lawns and flowers - the entire ensemble of the small Olga's Island, created an atmosphere of serenity and peace. The illusion of the Eden Garden, where a man can be in harmony with himself, was maintained by the peacocks, walking around the island.

The interior finish of Olga's pavilion is fairly restraint, but it is not deprived of elegance: simple stucco and painted ornaments, parquet floors and marble fireplaces. On the ground floor there is the Dining room, where the tsar family had their breakfast and afternoon tea, where they drank coffee and "ate tea." The Empress and Olga preferred coffee, while Nicholas I enjoyed tea more, and, according to Olga's memories, "... ate pickled cucumber with it sometimes". The round table, near the fireplace, is served with items from the dowry of Olga Nikolaevna. They are the bleached linen napkins, silverware, porcelain and silver dinner sets. The dowry with its lists occupying dozens of pages, сorresponded to the rank and dignity of the Russian Grand Duchess. Olga Nikolaevna was very beautiful, that is evidenced by her portrait, painted in Palermo, by the artist P. Orlov, in 1846. The paintings in the Dining room with the views of Italy are reminiscent of her happy days spent in Sicily.

The landscapes "Countries of dreams" decorate the Cabinet of Olga Nikolaevna, which was designed without redundant pomposity - the daughter of Nicholas I was brought up in Spartan simplicity. On the desktop of the Cabinet, there are writing accessories, including the mosaic paper-press with the depiction of the Sicilian emblem. On the separate table, the box for needlework. The tsar daughters were skilled in embroidery, in addition, they could play music and were taught drawing, singing, dancing and horseback riding.

On the second floor of the pavilion, there is the Cabinet of Nicholas I, designed even more humbly than the daughter's interiors, and adorned with the sculptural portrait of the emperor himself, work of Ivan Vitali. As well as engravings, depicting the cities of Italy, that the father of the Grand Duchess visited.

From the upper terrace of the pavilion, there is a beautiful view of Peterhof and its surroundings. From here you can see the Belvedere, resembling a Greek temple, and the five-domed Church of the Dignified Queen Alexandra, built on the Babigon Hill by the architect A. I. Stackenshneider on the order of Nicholas I, who considered Peterhof as his favorite place for summer holidays.

En
En

Дата постройки: 1846-1848 гг.

Архитектор: Андрей Иванович Штакеншнейдер (1802-1865)

Ольгин павильон – подарок императора Николая I своей дочери, великой княжне Ольге Николаевне, ко дню её бракосочетания с принцем Карлом Вюртембергским. Павильон построен в стиле загородных вилл острова Сицилии, в столице которого, Палермо, решился вопрос о браке великой княжны.

Павильон представляет собою трёхэтажную башню с террасой и лестницей, спускающейся прямо к воде. Когда-то сюда причаливали лодки, гондолы и паром. Гладкие стены павильона оживлены барельефами, балконами, нишами с мраморными бюстами, оригинальными дождевыми стоками в виде крылатых драконов. Башня, плавные извилистые дорожки с высаженной вдоль них земляникой, деревья, кусты сирени, барбариса, жасмина, лужайки и цветы, – весь ансамбль небольшого Ольгина острова создавал ощущение безмятежности и покоя. Иллюзию райского сада, где человек находится в гармонии с самим собой, поддерживали гуляющие по острову павлины.

Внутренняя отделка Ольгина павильона довольно сдержанна, но не лишена изысканности: скромные лепной и живописный орнаменты, паркетные полы, мраморные камины. На первом этаже Столовая, где царственное семейство устраивало завтраки и полдники, во время которых пили кофе, "кушали чай". Императрица и Ольга Николаевна предпочитали кофе, а Николай Первый любил чай, и, по воспоминаниям Ольги, "…ел к нему иногда солёный огурец". Круглый стол около камина сервирован предметами из приданого Ольги Николаевны. Это салфетки из отбелённого льна, столовое серебро, фарфоровый и серебряный столовые сервизы. Приданое, перечень которого занимал десятки страниц, соответствовало рангу и достоинству русской великой княжны. Ольга Николаевна была настоящей красавицей, что подтверждает портрет, написанный в Палермо в 1846 году художником П. Орловым. О счастливых днях отдыха на Сицилии напоминают в Столовой картины с видами Италии.

Пейзажи "страны грёз" украшают и Кабинет Ольги Николаевны, оформленный без лишней помпезности – дочери Николая I воспитывались в спартанской простоте. На рабочем столе Кабинета письменные принадлежности, среди которых мозаичный пресс с изображением сицилийского герба. На отдельном столике шкатулка для рукоделия. Царские дочери хорошо вышивали, кроме того, они умели музицировать, их обучали рисованию, пению, танцам, верховой езде.

На третьем этаже павильона находится Кабинет Николая I, оформленный скромнее, чем интерьеры дочери, и украшенный скульптурным портретом самого императора работы Ивана Витали, а также гравюрами, изображающими города Италии, в которых бывал отец великой княжны.

С верхней террасы павильона открывается прекрасный вид на Петергоф и его окрестности. Отсюда просматривается Бельведер, напоминающий древнегреческий храм, и пятиглавая церковь Благоверной царицы Александры, построенные на Бабигонской возвышенности архитектором А. И. Штакеншнейдером по указу Николая I, для которого Петергоф всегда был любимым местом летнего отдыха.